Google Cloud – There’s Certainly A Lot More Than You Would Think On This Page..

Google gives individuals who use G Suite Business, Enterprise, Education, or Nonprofit editions two distinct varieties of Google Drive storage: My Drive and Team Drives. Both work as a reliable location to store, organize, and share files. Yet, there’s one major difference between the two: When you add a file to a Team Drive, all people in the Team Drive get access to the file, however when you add a file to My Drive, your file remains private by default.

Google also gives G Suite administrators the opportunity to adjust the default file access and sharing settings for Google Drive and Team Drives. Most G Suite administrators review and configure Google Drive settings through the initial G Suite deployment, but Google recently added more settings in mid-2018 to aid secure Team Drive data.

Evaluate the following settings to control, protect, and monitor your organization’s Team Drives. You’ll need a G Suite administrator make up your business to access Admin console settings.

Manage Team Drives – n many cases, your organization’s default Google Drive sharing settings also serve as the default Team Drive sharing settings. Sign in the G Suite admin console (at admin.google.com), then navigate to Apps > G Suite > Drive and Docs > Sharing Settings. Review these setting to ensure external sharing is either allowed or restricted appropriately.

Immediately underneath the Sharing settings section, you’ll see Team Drive creation controls. All these five options prevents another action. Any selection made here applies to Each of the organization’s Team Drives. For instance, a G Suite administrator at an organization especially worried about security could select all five of these options, which may lead to backup google drive to onedrive access being restricted solely to folks inside an organization, and with only members of a Team Drive having the ability to access files on that Team Drive. This kind of configuration would also constrain downloading, copying, and printing of files from the Team Drive.

A more frequently-used configuration may be to examine only the “Prevent full-access members from modifying Team Drive settings” option. This helps to ensure that a G Suite administrator can make the sharing, membership, and content action options allowed (i.e., access to download, copy, or print) for each and every Team Drive, without the risk that the full-access member might modify these settings.

Screenshot of G Suite Admin console Manage Team Drives options (with sharing, membership, and content action options shown)

Review and manage Team Drive sharing and content action settings for any organization’s Team Drives.

Protect Team Drive content – A G Suite administrator might also review and adjust membership, sharing, and content action settings for many Team Drives. Again, login for the Admin console (admin.google.com), then navigate to Apps > G Suite > Drive and Docs > Team Drive > Manage Team Drives.

Screenshots of Team Drive sharing options – left shows items struggling to be modified; right show items capable of being changed.

A G Suite administrator can restrict many Team Drive sharing, membership, and content actions (as shown on the left). More permissive options allow Team Drive members to talk about externally, add members, or copy, download, and baysuv files (as shown on the right).

Because these settings affect each Team Drive, you can configure very flexible and open options that enable external sharing and content actions for a few Team Drives, as well as choosing much more locked-down options that prohibit external sharing and content actions for other Team Drives.

Importantly, so long as a G Suite administrator doesn’t prohibit it, members of a Team Drive that have full-access permissions may adjust Team Drive settings.

Monitor Team Drive changes – G Suite also gives administrators the cabability to review Team Drive changes. Sign in the Admin console, then go to Reports > Audit > Drive > take a look for that Item Type filter (inside the column on the left) and judge “Team Drive” from the options. Visit the bottom of the column, then select “Search” to use the filter. You’ll then see a report of all the Team Drive administrative activity to your organization.

You can add additional filters to this particular report, too. For instance, as well as selecting “Team Drive” items, you might also look for the “Item Visibility Change” option, and judge “Internal to External,” then select Search. This displays a study of Team Drive items available today to people outside of the organization, that were previously only accessible internally.

Your feelings on Team Drive? If you use Team Drives for files at your organization, what settings do you use most often? If you’re a G Suite administrator, perhaps you have restricted any Team Drive settings – or would you allow most actions?